Working to realize our Vision to be the cultural and informational hub of a vibrant, thriving community by creating spaces and experiences that are welcoming, enriching and sustainable.

# ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES Skaneateles Library Association Board of Trustees Meeting January 30, 2020

#### Present:

President Dave Hempson, Vice President Susanne Guske, Treasurer Andrew Hagen, Secretary Bob Lotkowictz, Trustees Manny Arroyo, Paula Conan, Danette Davis, Scott Elia, Karen Morrissey Bedard, Larry Palmieri, Amanda Latreille, Dave Lee, Todd Marshall, Amy Rolleri, and Laurie Spencer. The Library Director Nickie Marquis and Assistant Library Director Deanna King were in attendance.

#### Absent:

None

#### General:

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by President Hempson.

#### Treasurer's Report:

Elaine Buffington from Buffington & Hoatland CPAs presented the Financial Report of the SLA for Fiscal Year ending September 30, 2019. She indicated this was not an audit of the SLA. In general, Cash Equivalents were up due to investment income, Revenue was down due to investment income, and Expenses were up due to salaries.

A motion was made by Treasurer Hagen and seconded by Secretary Lotkowictz to approve the Financial Report. The motion passed unanimously.

#### President's Report:

President Hempson reviewed his Annual Report to the Community (attached). He reviewed the process of the current project to find a new home for the Library. The SLA Board voted on 12/10/2019 to find a new location for the Library while keeping the existing location for the Barrow and other appropriate uses. He mentioned the project needs a new name similar in character to "Project Bookends." Also, he said there are many other tasks that need to be accomplished with the help of new board members and others through the SLA committees. He pointed out that a new 49 Genesee Street committee has been formed to help guide the repurposing of the existing library structure.

### Director's Report:

Director Marquis reviewed the Director's Annual Report of the Library. She acknowledged the work of the staff - they are very creative and dedicated and always making people feel welcome.

### Nominating Committee:

President Hempson introduced the nominating process. He said there were over 100 fantastic people had expressed interest and were considered for trustee positions. The following slate was determined for trustee positions and executive officers:

- Nominations for returning trustees: Scott Elia and Dave Lee (3-year terms)
- Nomination for Manny Arroyo (3-year term)
- Nominations for new trustees: Tara Lynn, Ralph DeMasi, Patti Carey, Katrina Zepp and Maura Molnar (3-year terms) \*
- Nominations for executive officers (1-year terms) Dave Hempson, President Susanne Guske, Vice-President Danette Davis, Secretary Andrew Hagen, Treasurer

**Motion #1:** A motion was made by President Hempson and seconded by Trustee Conan to appoint Scott Elia and Dave Lee to 3-year terms. The motion carried.

**Motion #2**: A motion was made by President Hempson and seconded by Vice-President Guske to appoint Manny Arroyo to a 3-year term. The motion carried.

**Motion #3:** A motion was made by President Hempson and seconded by Secretary Lotkowictz to appoint Tara Lynn, Ralph DeMasi, Patti Carey, Katrina Zepp and Maura Molnar to 3-year terms. The motion carried.

**Motion #4:** A motion was made by President Hempson and Trustee Morrissey Bedard to accept the slate of officers as presented above. The motion carried.

### **Committee Review and Assignments**:

President Hempson reviewed the 2020 Draft Committee assignments handout. The handout describes each committee, who is on the committee, and what the committee does.

### Thank you to Paula Conan and Todd Marshall:

President Hempson gave heartwarming thanks to Trustee Conan and Trustee Marshall for their years of service, 8 and 9 years, respectively.

## Adjourn Annual Meeting:

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 p.m.

Submitted by, Bob Lotkowictz, Secretary