## **Skaneateles Library Board of Trustees: 2022 Committees**

Updated 11/17/2022

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	RESPONSIBILITIES and ADDITIONAL MEMBERS
Executive (S)	Susanne Guske (President)*	Provides the leadership required to meet the library's mission and vision. Tracks goals established in the long-range plan, reviews matters related to the library's organization and structure. Maintains a list of trustee terms and expirations to ensure continuity and skills availability. Creates the committee structure required to accomplish short term, annual and multi-year objectives.  Dave Hempson (Vice President), Meghann Sandak (Secretary), Maura Molnar (Treasurer), Nickie Marquis (Director)**
Personnel (S) Executive Sub-Committee	Susanne Guske	Provides input for selection, annual review and retention of the Library Director. Assists the Library Director with personnel matters as needed. Works with the Finance Committee on annual budgetary wage scale and salary matters.  Dave Hempson, Nickie Marquis
Finance (S)	Maura Molnar	Plans for the long-term financial sustainability of the library. Finalizes Library Director's draft budget for presentation to the board. Provides quarterly and annual financial statements to the board. Recommends investment policies. Develops financial plans and analysis including future revenue increase and expense control needs. Acts as a resource for all committees, including the Barrow Art Gallery, concerning financial matters and related research.  Susanne Guske, Andrew Hagen, Larry Palmieri, <i>Nickie Marquis</i>
Communications (S)	Karen Bedard, Erin McCormack	Provides transparent and effective communication to the community. Develops (with internal or outsourced resources) the library's communication strategy and collaterals for internal and external audiences in all media forms. Guides the board on communication approaches.  Susanne Guske, Dave Hempson, Meghann Sandak, Kathryn Carlson, Patti Carey, Maura Molnar, Nickie Marquis, Andrea Snyder, Courtney Alexander, Tara Lynn, Jason Persse, Fran McCormack, Lori Ruhlman (advisor)
Fennell Street Building (A)	Scott Elia, Dave Hempson	Leads the process for planning, designing and building a new library. Obtains information necessary for recommendations to the board. Actions any site or building requirements.  Manuel Arroyo, Maura Molnar, Meghann Sandak, Susanne Guske, Ralph DeMasi, Bob Lotkowictz, Nickie Marquis, Andrea Snyder, Mary Beth Schwartzwalder, Fran McCormack, Marilyn Dimora, Alan Dolmatch and Martin Harms

## **Skaneateles Library Board of Trustees: 2022 Committees**

Updated 11/17/2022

Book Sale (S)	Mary Giroux	Organizes and runs the annual Used Book Sale, currently the library's major fundraiser. Advises the board of needs and status.
		David Lee, Nickie Marquis, Danette Davis
Buildings and Grounds (S)	David Lee	Ensures proper maintenance of the library's facilities. Recommends annual and as needed maintenance and capital projects. Assists with the application of construction grants.
		Currently in conjunction with 49 E. Genesee St. Committee
Barrow Board (S)	Amy Rolleri (President)	Hires the Director and represents the library board on The Barrow Gallery Management Committee.
		Dave Hempson, Maura Molnar, Patti Carey, Ali Perry (Executive Director), Betsy Carter (Finance Manager), Katrina Zepp (Operations Manager), Eileen Chiafair (Secretary), Valerie Hanbury (Docent Coordinator), Christy Lemp, Hilary Fenner
Nominating (S)	Dave Hempson	Recruits new board members, utilizing an inclusive process to ensure skill sets needed on the board are met. Keeps a list o community members interested in joining the board. Interviews and recommends potential trustees to the board for consideration and approval.
		Susanne Guske, Larry Palmieri, <i>Nickie Marquis, Todd Marshall</i>
49 East Genesee Street (S)	Susanne Guske	Ensures that the building continues to serve the community and is financially independent through both non-library and library uses. Plans for building improvements and future capital needs.
		Manuel Arroyo, Ralph DeMasi, Dave Hempson, Bob Lotkowictz, Dave Lee, <i>Nickie Marquis, Ali Perry, Jean McGlynn, Kim Persse, Geralyn Huba</i>
Fundraising (S)	Andrew Hagen	Coordinates the private and public fundraising for construction of a new library, including operational and capital needs. Recommends approaches, plans and events.
		Susanne Guske, Dave Hempson, Larry Palmieri, Erin McCormack, Patti Carey, <i>Nickie Marquis, Andrea Snyder, Diane Fellerman, Fran McCormack and Gary Girzadas</i>
Governance (S)	Susanne Guske	Reviews and recommends updates to the bylaws, including interaction with the Barrow Art Gallery. Coordinates input from counsel as required. Helps research legal matters relevant to the library's operations and facilities. Ensures library policies are consistent with relevant laws.
		Dave Hempson, Manuel Arroyo, Ralph DeMasi, <i>Nickie Marquis</i>

Non-board members in *italics* | Committee Types: S=Standing; A= Adhoc (limited timeframe with specific deliverables) \*The president is an *ex officio* voting member of all committees.