Joint Meeting of the John D. Barrow Trust and the Skaneateles Library Association Boards

June 10, 2025

Officers Present: Library President Dave Hempson, Vice President Katie Armijo, Treasurer Maura Molnar, Secretary Kathryn Carlson, Barrow President Amy Rolleri, Barrow Finance Manager Betsy Carter

Trustees: Manny Arroyo, Karen Bedard, Jennifer Feeney, Susanne Guske, Ralph DeMasi, Kristin LaBeau, Bob Lotkowictz, Stephen McClintic, Larry Palmieri, Cristina Pietropaoli, Paul Torrisi, Jr.

Staff: Library Director Nickie Marquis, Assistant Director and Adult Services Librarian Andrea Snyder, Barrow Executive Director Alexandra Perry, Barrow Operations Manager Katrina Zepp

Absent: Meghann Sandak

Members of the Public: Paula Conan, Gallery Separation Task Force, and many members of the community for a special presentation. At 6:28pm members of the Skaneateles Chamber of Commerce announced that Trustee Kristin LaBeau was being awarded the SKN Inspire award for her contributions to the community. She received a standing ovation and many words of congratulations from the trustees, friends and family who were present. The community members departed after the presentation.

Call to Order at 6:30 PM

Library Board President Hempson stated that the purpose of the joint meeting was to review and vote on a joint resolution authorizing the filing of the petition for separation into two boards and two entities, approving the petition itself, and approving a slate of contingent Barrow Gallery trustees. The result would be two separate organizations working together congenially. He referenced the fact that in the 2021 Barrow Gallery Strategic Plan, goal #7 referred to the separation and the steps needed to fulfill that goal. Those steps have been accomplished, resulting in the proposals before the Boards this day.

He gave a brief history, noting that the Barrow Gallery was built by John Barrow in 1900. The gallery and its contents were left in trust to the Library Association in 1905, with the requirement that the library be responsible for the upkeep and preservation of the gallery and paintings. A modification to the trust in 1979 declared that all expenses relating to the Gallery should be borne by the trust and not in any way by the library. It also established that the library and the gallery be separate financial and operational entities with separate boards; however, the library trustees would also serve as gallery trustees. The current petitions are seeking to modify that arrangement by removing the requirement that library trustees also serve as gallery trustees.

Two task forces that were created to negotiate the proposed separation agreement. The Barrow team consisted of Barrow Executive Director Alexandra Perry, Barrow Operations Manager Katrina Zepp, Paula Conan, Barrow President Amy Rolleri, and Barrow Finance Manager Betsy Carter. The Library team consisted of

Library President Dave Hempson, Trustee Manny Arroyo, Trustee Susanne Guske, Treasurer Maura Molnar, and Library Director Nickie Marquis. President Hempson thanked all involved for their hard work.

President Hempson called for a motion to approve a joint resolution to file the petition for separation of the library's and gallery's governing boards. The motion was made by Trustee Molnar and seconded by Trustee Bedard. The motion was carried unanimously with no abstentions.

President Hempson called for a motion to approve the contingent slate of Barrow trustees who would serve in an advisory capacity until the approval of the separation petition by the court. The motion was made by Trustee Guske and seconded by Trustee Palmieri. The motion was carried unanimously with no abstentions.

President Hempson called for a motion to approve the petition for relief to be submitted to the court. The basis for the petition is a legal concept called "equitable deviation" which means that the request deals with administrative changes and does not alter the original purpose of the trust. The motion was made by Trustee Bedard and seconded by Trustee McClintic. The motion was carried unanimously with no abstentions.

President Hempson thanked the joint board and explained that the resolutions would be signed by the Library Board secretary and sent with the petition to the Attorney General in Binghamton for their review. If approved, they would then be sent to the Supreme Court in Onondaga County for the court's approval.

Public comment: Paula Conan thanks the Library/Barrow Board for all it does and commented that it is not an easy job.

There being no further business, Trustee Torrisi made a motion to adjourn the joint meeting. Treasurer Molnar seconded and the motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 6:41pm.